Skip to content

Am I the Only Sane One Working Here?

19/01/2010
After I read “Don’t Bring it to Work” by Sylvia Lafair a talked a bit to my colleagues and she suggested me this book Am I the Only Sane One Working Here. So much on how I got to order my copy of this book, but why do I like it so much to blog about it, and why should you care reading my this book?

I guess the least of us can really choose our coworkers or our bosses, but this alone is of course not reason enough. Problems don’t simply start because we can’t choose these people. Everything turns ugly when we need to work with the wrong people or simply with difficult people.

No “Am I the Only Sane One Working Here” doesn’t help you identifying these people or even to attempt to solve your problems. This book (by the way it’s written by Albert J. Bernstein) gives 101 rules to make your life less stressful while dealing with problematic people. From those 101 rules I found two most helpful so far:

  • 10: Everyone has some kind of agenda, just listen closely and trust your feelings to get the whole story.
  • 67: To overcome the fear of public speaking, think of yourself to be part of the group you are talking to.

But overall I must say there were some rules I was aware of and some that are new too me. After reading the book I of course started given them a try. I found for instance that with my boss the following two rules actually work wonders:

  • 27: Don’t Blame them for what they are and give progress reports before they ask.
  • 41: Let your boss do his/her job and concentrate on only getting information that is relevant to you. Don’t try to understand everything.

The overall essence of this book is, when dealing with difficult people, stay cool and always remember you do not need to change them you just need to deal with them. And dealing with them is easiest when you let them talk with the occasional and polite why and how questions that do not attack but are meant to improve their performance/standing/reputation. Nobody likes to be wrong but everybody once to be better.

To close this blog please share with us: How do you guys deal with difficult people?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 20/01/2010 11:25

    Howdy to all 🙂 I can’t understand how to add your site in my rss reader.

Leave a Reply

