Skip to content

Book: The 48 Laws of Power

21/12/2011

The 48 Laws of Power

In The 48 Laws of Power (associate link) by Robert Greene is distilling events and recollections from history into 48 laws that are meant to give you more power. Power, or the ability to make others do as you please to further your own agenda, follows 48 rules. I won’t reiterate all rules but let me give you my two favorites:

  • Law 9: Win through your actions, never through argument
  • Law 13: When asking for help, appeal to people’s self-interest, never to their mercy or gratitude

I personally like Law number 9, because I often find myself not only not convincing people through arguing my position, but the time and effort I sometimes spend convincing or discussing things is far less than it would have cost just to do it and thus leaving no doubt.

Law number 13 is just so true, especially with people that you do not know well. After all time is the most precious resource we have, so we should spend it wisely. And even when dealing with friends it never hurts pointing out how they can profit from helping you out. (never mess with karma ;))

But after digging through this 400 pager, I found that there was one law to rule them all missing. Law 0: Think, Think ahead, Think farther ahead, is it really as you Think, GO. All laws come back to the basic tenancy to think before you act.

Tell me, are there any rules, law, or patterns that you observed that bring you ahead?.

Leave a Reply

